Skip to content
Location and contacts


Dr Paul Scown Board Chair

Paul was elected as Nexus Primary Health Board Chair November 2014. From 2000-2005, Paul was the Chief Executive of Melbourne Health, which includes the Royal Melbourne Hospital, for 4 1/2 years. He is currently a Board Director of Nexus Primary Health and has been a Board Director of Bio21 Australia Limited (2001-2005), The Walter & Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research (2002-2005), The Royal Melbourne Hospital Foundation Limited (2003-2005), Health Roundtable (1996-2005), National Ageing Research Institute (NARI) (2002-2004) and Chairman, Victorian Healthcare Association (VHA) (2004-2005)

Mr Gordon Hastie Treasurer and Chair – Audit and Risk Management Review Committee

Gordon joined the Board of Nexus Primary Health in March 2012, bringing over 40 years’ experience in business management. He has held various senior and regional management roles in the private sector. Gordon was a Regional Director with Gerber Technology for 12 years where he was responsible for managing international operations located in USA, Singapore and Turkey. Most recently, he has been operating his own software solutions company. He has a broad understanding of all areas of management including human resources, finance, operations and governance. Gordon is committed to ensuring that organisations act with integrity at all times

Mr Bob Eagle Chair – Governance Committee

Robert “Bob” Eagle was appointed to the Nexus Board in 2013. He chairs the Governance Committee and is a member of the Audit and Risk Management Review Committee. Bob was admitted as a lawyer in Melbourne in 1969 and has practiced in a variety of city, suburban and outer-suburban locations in Victoria, as well as for a decade in Broome, Western Australia, where he was a Director of a State Corporation. Because of the differing environments in which he has practised, he has had a broad range of legal experience, and has been involved with a number of community and social organisations.


Mr Desmond A. Callaghan OAM, JP, BJ Director

Des has been a Board Member since 1981 and is a past Board President, this has provided him with a comprehensive understanding of the community and the commitment required to meet its needs. Des was appointed an Honorary Bail Justice in 1990, and a Justice of the Peace in 1996. Des received the Community Services Award from Southern Mitchell Rotary and was also awarded Mitchell Shire Citizen of the year in 2005. Des is actively involved with the Returned & Services League Broadford Sub Branch, and in 2011 was awarded The Meritorious Service Medal by the R&SL of Australia, the highest award bestowed to a member.

Ms Marie Gerrard Chair – Clinical Governance, People and Culture Committee

Marie has recently joined the Nexus Board. She has a background in medical science working in public health areas, particularly in infectious diseases. Marie has been working for 23 years at the Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratories, (VIDRL). During this time she was High Security Scientist, Deputy Safety Officer responsible for safety training for new staff. Marie was Chair of the WHO West Pacific Centre for Biosafety, a committee member on the Australian Society for Microbiology standing committee on Biosafety and a Committee member on the review of the Australia New Zealand Standard “Safety in Laboratories, Microbiological and Containment Aspects.

Back to top